Welcome!

Standard

If you are reading this, it probably means you are pregnant and your doctor suspects your baby has a brain anomaly. Try to take a deep breath. My daughter has changed my life for the better. I don’t know where I’d be, or who I’d be had I not heard the words that changed our path on May 15, 2008, “Your baby has Hydrocephalus.” If you click on, “About Me” above, you will read about the early days of our journey.

Parker is almost 3 1/2 and developmentally “normal”, whatever that is. Would I love her any less if she wasn’t? Of course not!

Were we completely prepared for a different set of challenges? I believe every parent must be.

Do I wonder if she could have a stroke or a seizure that could re-route us once again? Unfortunately, yes.

But, do I cherish each day with the blessing that God has provided? Absolutely!

4 responses »

  1. I was diagnosed with Hydrocephalus when I was 3 months of age. Presently, I am 31 years old. I had a ‘normal’ childhood, I played and run a lot with my friends. My parents never treated me different because of my condition. Beteween 10-13 years old I had 4 surgiries. Those were hard times for me becuase thats when I found out that I ‘wasnt a normal kid’ I started to be more couteous about my health. I decided I wasnt goint to run anymore, because 2 of the surgiries were caused by the force I did by moving my head side to side when running.

    Today, I am a happy women. I graduated as a honor student. I also, graduated from College. I am married to a wonderful husband that takes care of me.

    For many years I suffered of severe migrains. Now I dont, because I discovered that there were caused by tension, I supposed that our brain is more sensitive to tension than other. so I get a massage often in order to get rid of any tension that may cause any headaches.

    I hope your daughter keeps in good health.

    love

    Johana

  2. Wow, thank you for sharing your journey. I am 25 years old and have been diagnosed with hydrocephalus. I’m nervous to have surgery to put a shunt in. I have been around kids with them and of course I don’t think about it all. Now here I am getting one for myself. It is so encouraging when I see kids who have them. I think if they can go through that, then I can too. Thanks again for sharing!

    • I can’t imagine going through this as an adult! I’m going to send you a message with contact information. I’m connected with hundreds of adults living with Hydro. Hopefully, they can help you through the process!

Leave a Reply

